Former Thesis Students and Postdocs:

  • Nisansa de Silva (Ph.D. Thesis: Semantic Oppositeness for Inconsistency and Disagreement Detection in Natural Language, June, 2020, Senior Lecturer, University of Moratuwa, Sri Lanka)
  • Peter Lovett (B.S. Honors Thesis: An Exploration of Style Transfer Through Iterative Editing, June, 2019, PhD Student, University of Arizona)
  • Jiazhen Cao (B.S. Honors Thesis: A Case Study for Predicting in-Hospital Mortality by Utilizing the Hyperbolic Embedding of ICD-9 Medical Ontology, June, 2019, Masters Student, CMU)
  • Yehui Zhang (M.S. Thesis: Prediction of ICD-9 Code Assignment Using Attention-based Convolutional Neural Networks, January, 2019, Software Engineer, Google)
  • Javid Ebrahimi (Ph.D. Thesis: Robustness of Neural Networks for Discrete Input: An Adversarial Perspective, co-advised with Daniel Lowd, December, 2018, Research Scientist, Visa Research)
  • Shravan Kale (M.S. Thesis: Understanding Perceived Sense of Movement In Static Visuals Using Deep Learning, June, 2018)
  • Yang Zhou (Research Associate on Graph Embedding and Deep Learning, April to July, 2017; Assistant Professor, Auburn University)
  • NhatHai Phan (Postdoc Research Associate on Social Network Analysis, Deep Learning, and Health Informatics 2013 - 2016; Assistant Professor, New Jersey Institute of Technology)
  • Fernando Gutierrez (Ph.D. Thesis: A Hybrid Approach for Ontology-based Information Extraction, December, 2015; Postdoc, Adolfo Ibanez University, Chile)
  • Shangpu Jiang (Ph.D. Thesis: Knowledge Base Refinement and Knowledge Translation with Markov Logic Networks, co-advised with Daniel Lowd, November, 2015; Software Engineer, Google)
  • Adam Martini (B.S. Honors Thesis: Integrating Metadata and Data Syntax Translation, June, 2013)
  • Haishan Liu (Ph.D. Thesis: A Graph-based Approach for Semantic Data Mining, August 2012; Senior Software Engineer, LinkedIn)
  • Daya Wimalasuriya (Ph.D. Thesis: Use of Ontologies in Information Extraction, January 2011; Software Development Engineer,, Inc.)
  • Paea LePendu (Ph.D. Thesis: Ontology Databases, January 2010; Postdoc, Stanford University)
  • Amanda Hosler (B.S. Honors Thesis: Using Inductive Logic Programming to Map Ontologies, July, 2006)

    Former Research Students:

  • Qiuhao Lu (Ph.D. student 2018-2021), Amir Veyseh (Ph.D. student 2018-2021), Adam Noack (Ph.D. student 2018-2021), Isaac Ahern (Ph.D. student 2019-2021), Gong Zhang (Ph.D. student 2019-2021), Amnay Amimeur (Ph.D. student 2015-2018), Sabin Kafle (Ph.D. student 2013-2017), Hao Wang (Ph.D. student 2011-2016), Adam Martini (MS' 14, NSF REU student 2012-2013, Concentric Sky), Nafisa Chowdhury (MS'11, Ph.D. student 2011-2013, Intel), Jing Tian (Ph.D. student 2012-2013), Hang Xu (BS'11), Vincent Yip (Ph.D. student 2010-2011), Han Qin (Ph.D. student 2005-2010, Facebook), David Lebech (MS'10), Brad Pitcher (MS'09), Jiawei Rong (MS'08, Ph.D. student 2005-2008, Microsoft), Jigme Tenzing (MS'08), Donghwi Kwak (MS student 2005-2007), Mike Matloff (BS'06), Shiwoong Kim (MS'06), Darren Brown (Ph.D. student 2005), Vikash Agarwal (MS'05, Cisco Systems).